Protecting the public and
guiding the professions

For Professionals

The Council regulates the health professions in the country in aspects pertaining to registration, education and training, professional conduct and ethical behaviour, ensuring continuing professional development, and fostering compliance with healthcare standards.

Professional Boards

Board Members

Board members are responsible for the establishment of committees and the appointment of chairpersons of committees.

In terms of Regulation 2 of the Regulations relating to the functions and functioning of the Professional Board, the Professional Board at its first meeting each year, has to appoint Committees which would function until the first meeting of the Professional Board in the following year.

The Board also appoints the Chairperson of each Committee, except in the case of the Executive Committee of the Professional Board, which is chaired by the Chairperson of the Professional Board. The composition, quorum and terms of reference of each Committee have to be determined by the Professional Board.

Board Members
Chairperson Prof B J Pillay
Vice-Chairperson Dr T Moloi
Board members Prof T-AB Mashego
Dr MB Ngcobo-Sithole 
Prof CM Langa
Prof C Young 
Prof L van Vuuren
Mr JO August
Mr L Manganye
Mr OSB Phakathi
Dr EM Mojapelo-Batka
Ms DB Gumbi
Mr MR Phala
Rev SP Mfeka
Ms T O'Connell
Prof T Guse
Ms L Dikweni     
Prof J Pillay