Protecting the public and
guiding the professions

For Professionals

The Council regulates the health professions in the country in aspects pertaining to registration, education and training, professional conduct and ethical behaviour, ensuring continuing professional development, and fostering compliance with healthcare standards.

Professional Boards



In terms of Regulation 2 of the Regulations Relating to the Functions and Functioning of a Professional Board, a Professional Board may from time to time establish standing committees as it may deem necessary. The Board shall determine the composition, quorum and terms of reference of each committee so established and shall at its first meeting each year appoint the members of the committees.

The Board established the following committees:

- Executive Committee

- Education Committee

- Committee of Preliminary Inquiry

ExecutiveEducationPreliminary InquiryHPCSA CPD Committee RepresentativeCouncil Representative
Dr T A Muslim
Mrs N Swart
(Vice Chairperson)
Dr P Brijlal
(Education Committee Chair)
Dr J Oosthuysen (Universities SA rep)
Dr J Smit (Ministerial appointee)
Ms N Tsebe (Community rep)
Dr. P Brijlal (Chairperson)
Ms T Maphanga
Mr M J Maponyane
Mr T W Muthupei
Dr J Oosthuysen
Ms K S Paulse
Mrs N Swart
Mr M J Maponyane (Chairperson)
Ms C R Brent
Ms H Motlanthe
Dr J Oosthuysen
Ms P S Ramela
Dr J Oosthuysen Dr T A Muslim (Chairperson)