Protecting the public and
guiding the professions

For Professionals

The Council regulates the health professions in the country in aspects pertaining to registration, education and training, professional conduct and ethical behaviour, ensuring continuing professional development, and fostering compliance with healthcare standards.

Professional Boards

Board Members

The new Board has been inaugurated and the term of the new Board will terminate on 30 June 2020.


In terms of Regulation 4 of the Regulations Relating to the Functions and Functioning of a Professional Board, the members present at the first meeting of the newly constituted Professional Board elected from among their number a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, who shall hold office during the term of office of the Professional Board, unless any one of them resigns or ceases to be a member before the expiry of his or her term of office.

The Chairperson shall ex officio be a member of the Executive Committee of a Professional Board and Chairperson of that Committee.

Board Members
Chairperson Dr T A Muslim
Vice-Chairperson Mrs N Swart
Board members Ms C R Brent
Dr P Brijlal
Ms T Maphanga
Mr M J Maponyane
Ms H Motlanthe
Mr T W Muthupei
Dr J Oosthuysen
Ms K S Paulse
Ms P S Ramela
Dr J Smit
Ms N Tsebe